- Google & other search engines
- Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
- Email List Building
- Videos (YouTube, Viddler, etc.)
- Guest Posting
- Forums
- Relationship Building
- News Agencies
- Offline Sources
- Miscellaneous
How to Get Traffic From,Traffic Basics (98% of people get this in wrong way!)
working as SEO/SMO Expert since last 3 year and i get this top 10 strategy to get targeted website audience and traffic for your website or product page, this strategy 100% work for me so i am sharing it with all Beginner which can also get help and mostly seo beginner have a question how to get targeted audience from search engine, after reading my this article it's really easy to all of you, so not talking much just start explanation hear.
Read This Carefully don't spam or don't misuse this content (educational purposes only)
There are 5 serious problems with explanation that will destroy your online business.
Problem 1: You don’t have a product to sell.
98% of website visitors are checking email, browsing Facebook, and reading news. The one thing they have in common: They’re not buying anything.
Your job is to focus on the 2% of people who are actually looking to spend money. Pick a product to sell and keep your attention on buyers.
Problem 2: You need too much traffic to make it worthwhile
How much traffic do you need to make $100? Is it 100 visitors or 100,000 visitors? (If you don’t know then it’s probably close to 100,000 visitors.)
Traffic is a limited commodity and if it takes 100,000 visitors then you’re seriously wasting your time. If you can’t make $100 from a website then it’s not worth spending 20+ hours building content, doing SEO, building back links, social media, etc.
So you need to figure out approximately how many visitors you need to earn $100. I understand this is tricky to calculate so we’re going to make some estimations to get a ballpark figure i.e. do you need 100 visitors, 10,000 visitors, or 1 million visitors?
- 4 Important Formulas
Product Formula: (Use when you sell a product directly from your site)
visitors = total_earnings / (earnings_per_sale * conversion_rate)
Affiliate Formula (Use when you are an affiliate for product)
visitors = total_earnings / (earnings_per_sale * affiliate_click_through_rate * conversion_rate)
AdSense Formula
visitors = total_earnings / (earnings_per_click * adsense_click_through_rate)
Visitor Value Formula (How much is each visitor worth?)
visitor_value = total_earnings / visitors
Definitions:
total_earnings: How much do you want to make? For our examples we will use $100.
earnings_per_sale: The amount you earn from 1 sale i.e. $7.00
conversion_rate: If you have 100 visitors how many will buy your product? 0.02 means 2 out of 100 purchased.
affiliate_click_through_rate: If you have 100 visitors come to your site, how many will end up at the product’s sales page? 0.1 means 10 out 100.
earnings_per_click: How much does AdSense pay you when 1 visitor clicks on the AdSense ad? i.e. $0.10
adsense_click_through_rate: If you have 100 visitors how many will click on an AdSense ad? 0.07 means 7 out of 100
Assumptions:
Estimating conversion rates, click through rates, etc is hard so here are a few default numbers you can use in your calculations
conversion_rate: 0.01
affiliate_click_through_rate: 0.1
earnings_per_click: $0.05
adsense_click_through_rate: 0.05
Many of you can achieve much better numbers than those listed above but I want to be conservative in my estimates.
Example 1
John sells a do-it-yourself car repair ebook on his website for $7 and has a 0.01 conversion rate. John will use the Product Formula to calculate how many visitors he needs to earn $100:
visitors = $100 / ($7 * 0.01) => 1,429 visitors
visitor_value = $100 / 1,429 => $0.07 per visitor
Example 2
Mary sells a video series on cat yodeling for $200 on her site and has a 0.01 conversion rate. Mary will use the Product Formula to calculate how many visitors she needs to earn $100:
visitors = $100 / ($200 * 0.01) => 50 visitors
visitor_value = $100 / 50 => $2 per visitor
Example 3
Cindy is an affiliate for the Learn Spanish Today audio series and earns $3 commission for each sale. Her affiliate_click_through_rate is 0.1 (10/100 website visitors click the link to the sales page). And the sales page has a conversion rate of 0.01. Cindy will use the Affiliate Formula to calculate how many visitors she needs to earn $100:
visitors = $100 / ($3 * 0.1 * 0.01) => 33,333 visitors
visitor_value = $100 / 33,333 => $0.003 per visitor (that’s 1/3 of a penny!)
Example 4
Tony runs Google AdSense ads on his game review site and earns $0.05 per click and has an adsense_click_through_rate of 0.05. Tony will use the AdSense Formula to calculate how many visitors he needs to earn $100:
visitors = $100/ ($0.05 * 0.05) => 40,000 visitors
visitor_value = $100 / 40,000 => $0.0025 per visitor (that’s 1/4 of a penny!)
- Important ideas
Looking at the examples above there are few things to be aware of:
Sites that sell high-priced items ($100+) need 10x less traffic than sites with low-priced items ($10 or less).
When you advertise affiliate products you have to get lots of traffic because only a fraction will click on the ad to go to the sales page, and only a few of those will actually buy the product. This problem is compounded when you sell low-priced affiliate products.
Sites that run AdSense often need a lot of traffic because the earnings-per-click is low or the click-through rate is low.
“Traffic Explosion” Myth
Gurus love to talk about explosive traffic or exponential traffic growth but it just doesn’t happen for 99.99% of sites.
Almost every site that gets traffic from non-paid sources has its traffic increase little by little. If you can increase your traffic by 1,000 visitors each month you are doing very well!
Overly optimistic
To be honest, I think 1,000 visitors/month is a overly optimistic. 250 visitors is a better estimate.
But imagine that it takes 10,000 visitors to earn $100. How many months of hard-work will it take?
So, how long will it take to earn $100 with the product you’re selling? Is it worth it?
2 huge traffic secrets
1. Most products require far too much traffic to earn $100 and are not worth the time and effort. Traffic Gurus are are super selective about what they sell and the keywords that they try to rank for.
2. 95% of people on the Internet are not looking to buy anything right now. They want to check their email, read the news, and get on Facebook. Traffic Gurus understand this and create sites that cater to the 5% of people who actually want to buy something right now.
Your turn
Using your best judgement estimate how many visitors you need to earn $100. Spend 5 minutes, run a few numbers, and come up with a number.
If you need 10,000+ visitors to make $100 then it’s most likely not worth it.
If you need 1,000+ visitors (and less than 10,000) you have a tough road ahead of you but it’s doable.
If you need fewer than 1,000 visitors then you’re in good shape.
Also, does your site cater to people looking to buy something (5% of Internet traffic)?
Problem 3: You target the wrong people
99% of people have no interest in what you’re selling. Your job is to find the 1% that does want it and get your product in front of them. And Google may not be the best way to reach your target audience.
Want The “Right” Kind Of Traffic? Answer These 5 Questions
You don’t want just any traffic; you want traffic that clicks on your ads, buys your products, and signs up for your email list.
You want traffic that converts.
So, how do you get traffic that converts??
5 Most Important Questions
These questions are at the core of every successful online business, and if you can answer them then you can get traffic that converts.
What exactly are you selling?
You cannot make money without a product/service to sell. Subway sells sandwiches, the New York Times sells advertising space, and I challenge you to find a successful business that doesn’t have something to sell.
There’s no point in getting traffic if you don’t know what you’re selling!
Who desperately wants what you’re selling?
99.99% of people have no interest in what you’re selling. So who DOES want it? Who desperately wants it and will actually pay for it?
What is their gender, race, age, home ownership rate, employment rate, and geographic location?
What is their personality, values, attitudes, interests, and lifestyle?
Are they married? Do they have children? What ages are their children?
What’s their political affiliation?
What kind of car do they drive?
How much money do they earn? What are the biggest things they spend money on?
What’s on their Amazon wish list?
Where can you find a high concentration of these people?
Where do they get together online/offline?
What forums, blogs, newspapers, magazines do they read?
What church or social organizations do they belong to?
What do they for recreation? Where do they vacation?
Where do they shop for food, clothes, and cars?
What other products do these people already buy on a regular basis?
What kinds of food do they buy?
What kind of car do they buy? Used or new?
Where do they go out to eat?
Where do they get their hair, nails, or car repairs done?
If they have kids, what kid-related things do they spend money on? i.e. clothes, sports equipment, school supplies, lunchables.
What online subscriptions do they pay for?
How will you connect those people with the product you’re selling?
How can you leverage the forums, blogs, newspapers, magazines they read and get targeted traffic?
How can you bundle your product with a product these people are already buying?
People who buy your product will likely know other people that want it. Could you invite customers to be affiliates?
So, do you know exactly what you’re selling?
If you cannot answer this with a definite “Yes” then you don’t have a business and a lack of traffic is not your real problem.
Before you do keyword research, seo, build backlinks, etc. you must know precisely what you are selling!
But Prince, I really want to get traffic first and then figure out what I’m selling.
You want traffic that converts into sales and that means knowing exactly what you’re selling and precisely who will buy it (and 99.9% of people do NOT want to buy it).
Wouldn’t it be a shame if you spent hundreds of hours building a website and thousands of dollars with an SEO company, only to find that your top Google ranking drove tons of traffic to your website but the traffic never bought anything?
Case Study: My Famous Quotes
One of my first domains was myfamousquotes.com and I thought
“I’ll get traffic first and then figure out what to sell later.”
Years later it gets consistent traffic but struggles to make more than a couple dollars a day because I cannot find anything that visitors desperately want.
Biggest Absolute Failure
In 2008 I did an experiment to see how fast I could rank for the low competition keyword phrase: Biggest Absolute Failure.
As I recall, it only took a couple hours and 3 years later I am still #1 in Google.
But guess how much traffic that #1 ranking generates. It’s 1 visitor per week.
And even if it were generating loads of traffic, what would I sell to people searching Google for Biggest Absolute Failure? I have no idea!
But Prince, what if no one will buy my product?
Then you have learned something important. If no one wants your product then stop wasting time with it and find something else to sell.
But Prince, How do I find a product that people will spend money on?
Excellent question. You have to notice the people around you and what they regularly spend money on.
Also notice what causes them pain or discomfort and makes them say, “I’d pay $100 if someone would help me fix/remove/cure x.”
Another route is to look at what products are currently selling well and sell those. I have a few videos that cover how to do this:
Problem 4: You try to get traffic from Google & SEO
The single best strategy for getting massive traffic has nothing to do with Google or search engine optimization. It can be summarized in one word: relationships. I bet there is already a website with the exact traffic that you want. And if you play your cards right you can leverage their traffic and send it to your own site.
The single best strategy for getting massive traffic has nothing to do with Google or search engine optimization. It can be summarized in one word: relationships.
Building relationships
For nearly every niche there is already a website with the exact traffic that you want. That site has likely spent years building its audience and working hard to achieve & protect its rank in Google.
And if you play your cards right you can leverage their traffic and send it to your own site.
How to build relationships
To be honest I’m not an expert as this but I will share with you 2 important things I have learned through trial and error:
People with high-traffic websites are very busy and get a lot of emails/tweets/phone calls from people requesting help. Most of these requests are ignored.
People with high-traffic websites want help getting traffic, making sales, and spreading their message. And if you find a way to help them achieve their goals then they will send you traffic.
This is really about asking yourself the question What’s in it for them?
Example 1
You have a new website about dog training and you’re looking to get traffic. In this case you could find all the people that are selling dog training e-books online and ask them to do an interview over email or the phone. Your interview could cover some of the most common questions people have about dog training and would give the person you’re interviewing an opportunity to put a plug-in about their e-book.
You post the interview on your website and email the person you interviewed with a link to it. It’s quite likely they would tweet a link to the followers on Twitter. If the interview is good enough they might even send it to the email list sending lots of traffic to your site.
Example 2
Find a high-traffic site with the exact sort of traffic you want and then locate their most popular blog post. (Blog posts with most comments are usually the most popular.)
Do some research and find a way to supplement/update/add to their best blog post. You could:
Look through their comments and see if there are a bunch of people with the same question. Write up a thorough FAQ for them.
Find some aspect of the post that needs to be updated e.g. I have dozens of posts that are several years old and I’d love for them to be updated.
Find an amazing creative commons licensed image that would be a perfect fit for the post.
Find an angle that the blog post hasn’t explored and do an amazing write-up that explores that angle.
Find a way to make their blog post better. It may take a few hours and you may have to write 300 words but when the blog owner adds your supplement to the most popular blog post (with a link back to your site) you’re going to get lots of traffic.
You can avoid wasting a lot of time by doing things in the right order:
Send them a short email telling them how you really like one of their posts. That’s it. Don’t ask for anything.
Many bloggers will respond with a short thank you email
Wait for a response. If you don’t get a response then find another blog.
Find one of their most popular blog posts that you could add real value to.
Email them explaining exactly how you want to improve the post and you’d like a backlink in return. Ask them if this is something they’re interested in. It’s similar to a guest posting proposal.
If they respond with Yes then do the supplement and send it to them.
Example 3
Find a high traffic website in your niche that is selling a product they created. Buy the product, do a thorough product review and post it on your website. Notify the product owner of the review and they will likely link to it or tweet about it.
Problem 5: Your website sucks
Want 10x more sales? Go find 5 people who actually are interested in your product and ask them questions like:
If you were searching on Google and came across my site would you spend much time on it?
Would you immediately hit the back button?
Does my site help you find what you’re looking for?
I’m a nice guy and I will give a few suggestions on what I think they should do to improve their website.
My opinion is worthless
But here’s the problem with my advice: I am not the person that is interested in buying your eBook and therefore I am not qualified to tell you the best ways to improve your site.
Even though I have mad traffic driving skills I am not the person you should be talking to.
Go find 5 people for your product green signal, to understand your product
You need to go find 5 people that you believe are interested in your product and show them your website. And you need to ask them:
If you were searching on Google and came across my site would you spend much time on it? Would you immediately hit the back button?
Does my site help you find what you’re looking for?
How can I improve my site?
Would you buy my product from my site?
Would you come back to my site in the future?
Would you tell your friends about my website?
Not your mom
If your website sucks your mom will never tell you that it does. So your mom cannot be one of the 5 people that looks at your website and gives you feedback.
This also applies to other family and friends.
But Prince, this sounds hard
Yes, it’s hard. And because it’s hard almost no one does it. You have a huge opportunity here to do what almost no one does and actually talk to kind of the people that you are trying to sell to.
But Prince, 5 people said that my website sucks
You have learned something important here. Your website sucks and no one wants to buy what you’re selling. And all the traffic in the world will not help you if no one is willing to buy.
You have two options:
- Use the feedback you get to improve your site. And then find 5 people and have them reevaluate your site.
- Recognize that your site sucks and move on to something else.
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